CFL Grey Cup Facts

  • In 1909, the Grey Cup was donated by Governor General Albert Henry George Grey, the fourth Earl Grey, to recognize the top amateur rugby football team. The Grey Cup has since become the property of the Canadian Football League as it evolved into the professional football league it is today.
  • Amateur teams stopped competing for the Cup by 1954; since 1965, the top amateur teams, playing in Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS), have competed for the Vanier Cup.
  • It is Canada’s largest annual sports and television event.
  • Like the Stanley Cup, the same Grey Cup trophy is awarded to different teams each season. Other professional sports leagues make new trophies every year.
  • This year’s half time show will feature Blue Rodeo. Past performers have included Shania Twain, The Guess Who and The Black Eyed Peas.
  • 1952 was the first year the Grey Cup was broadcast on television. The CBC paid $7,500 for the rights and CBLT Toronto was the only station to air the game live.